Wild Brush Energy WBRS

Clara Christie <hotshotsuccored@acado.ch> sends me this spam:

News Alert!

Fueled by the possibility of an upcoming merger, Wild Brush
Energy (WBRS) is gearing up for an explosion. Tension is
building and soon the scramble to take a position will push
this one off the charts.

Wild Brush Energy
Symbol: WBRS
Current Price: $0.05
Short Term Target: $0.32
Long Term Target: $0.80

WBRS is engaged in some of the most lucrative gas regions in North
America. Major discoveries are happening all the time and WBRS is in
the thick of it.

With the array of drilling projects Wild Brush has going on at the moment
tension is building. As the drilling gets closer to completion insiders are
accumulating ahead of that major discovery announcement.

Finally the market is ready for explosion
Wednesday December 13 2006. will be a huge growth of WBRS at 1.00 am
Get ready to make some cash today!

About this spammer:

Wild Brush Energy Inc.
Investor Relations: 1-866-683-8600



Anonymous said...

Please be a little more web savvy than this. I got this spam and did a web search. The companies named are more often than not victims, not perpetrators of spam.

Also, the headers on the mail are likely forged -- years ago my university still used an open relay system and spammers forged addresses from our domain and all email from my university (40,000 students and 15,000 faculty and staff) were blocked.

It is pointless to write to Brush Energy and it is pointless to write to the administrator at the domain in question.

If the spammer hasn't forged the originating IP or domain, you can do an IP lookup and write to the tech suport at the hosting company (assuming the spammer isn't doing they're own hosting) and try to have the account revoked.

In my case, the relevant header for WBRS was

from syftyj ([]) by corre.demon.co.uk (8.13.2/8.13.2) with SMTP id l020GEg9036948; Tue, 02 Jan 2007 00:16:14 +0000

Note that the username is "syftyj" which means this is auto-generated and the abuser expects to have it deleted. It likely is already.

Asking people to write to Wild Brush is at best pointless (in the *extremely* unlikely scenario that the company is sending out the mail), but probably distracting and damaging to people who are running a legit business that is essnetially under attack by spammers.

As the spamnation.info FAQ says in response to the question "How can I get off their list":

Unfortunately, you can't. Stock spammers are breaking the law, so they are careful not to include any information that could be used to identify them. The spammer conceals their identity by sending spam through hijacked PCs - 'zombies' - and any 'From:' address or contact information in the spam is usually false (stock spammers routinely put other people's addresses or domain names in their 'From:' lines).

Anonymous said...

I own a domain and have a catch all set up to forward any email to my email address. I have started to get a load of bounced email returns, which suggests that my domain is being used in the "From".

Firstly, I am getting annoyed by the constant bounces coming into my inbox, but more worrying is that my domain might start getting blocked as a spammer (which I am not of course).

I can't think of any way out of this.

Thunder said...

Obviously, the spammers hide their address. The stocks websites doesn't appear to be in relation with spammers, not like pharmacy spammers.

Yes, when the spammers get one domain they generate almost random email adresses that uses like from in spam messages

Anonymous said...

So... I'm also a victim of this spammer, which uses my domain to send the spammail. My Daily mail contains dozens of NDR of spamblock replies, I also use a catchall for my domain. Is there a way to get off of this? i hope so, I already mailed my hosting company and asked for their help. Since I don't get the original message, but a ndr with te original email instead, I'm not able to see from which IP the mail is coming from. Anyone nows how to end this?

Anonymous said...

This is the spammer:

Wild Brush Energy Inc.
Investor Relations: 1-866-683-8600


Wild Brush Energy Inc. or WBRS is not the sender (victim), it's the perpetrator! They sends millions of spams every day and uses hundreds of domains from the victims (including me).

Anonymous said...

But there are to many stock spammers...